• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Love Ballymena

Executive agrees international travel green list

The Executive has today agreed 12 countries to be added to a green list for international travel from May 24. The new advice will apply to residents and visitors to Northern Ireland from next Monday. Everyone should continue to follow the advice for amber countries until that date i.e. you must self-isolate for 10 days on arrival in Northern Ireland and you must book a PCR test package for day 2 and 8 prior to travelling to Northern Ireland. From May 24, people can travel to the following countries without the need to isolate on return.

  1. Portugal, including the Azores and Madeira

  2. Australia

  3. Iceland

  4. New Zealand

  5. Faroe Islands

  6. South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

  7. Gibraltar

  8. Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

  9. Brunei

  10. Falkland Islands

  11. Israel and Jerusalem

  12. Singapore

Travellers will be required to take a PCR test on day 2 after arrival. This must be booked prior to travel. Travellers from Portugal, Israel and Jerusalem, and Singapore are also asked to take an additional free PCR test on Day 8.

Information on how this can be booked is available at:

https://www.gov.uk/get-coronavirus-test In making its decision, the Executive considered the current data on variants of concern and will continue to monitor the situation going forward. The list of countries will be subject to review by the Joint Biosecurity Centre (JBC) at the end of May. Further details are available on nidirect:


JBC is part of the UK Health Security Agency, in partnership with devolved administrations, has developed a dynamic risk assessment methodology to inform ministerial decisions on red, amber and green list countries and territories, and the associated border measures.

This methodology has been endorsed by the JBC technical board (4 UK Chief Medical Officers and their relevant specialists, such as Chief Scientific Advisers).