top of page

Department for Infrastructure publishes major roads prioritisation programme

Road works sign on road

The Department for Infrastructure has published a prioritised list of major road schemes that will continue to be progressed.

Prioritising the development and delivery of major road schemes has been necessary because of the Department’s challenging budgetary position, along with constrained resources and commitments under the Climate Change (NI) Act 2022.

This combination of factors has changed the landscape considerably, meaning delivery of the major roads programme as previously set out is no longer sustainable nor appropriate.

The list of roads to be prioritised is outlined below.

This includes the closing out of projects that have been recently constructed as well as the continued development of schemes that have been identified as Executive Flagship projects and those included within City and Growth Deals. 

Road schemes to be prioritised:

  • A6 Randalstown/Castledawson

  • A6 Derry / Dungiven Phase 1

  • A5 Western Transport Corridor

  • A6 Derry / Dungiven Phase 2

  • Belfast Rapid Transit 2

  • Lagan Pedestrian & Cycle Bridge

  • Newry Southern Relief Road

  • A4 Enniskillen Southern Bypass

  • A29 Cookstown Bypass

Work will also continue on the A1 Junctions Phase 2 scheme, to finalise the Business Case and complete the preparation of the contract documents.  In addition, current work streams will also be completed on York Street Interchange and A32 Cornamuck schemes. 

All other schemes will be paused and their place on a future major works programme will be informed by the Department’s emerging transport plans and any decision by a future Infrastructure Minister. 


bottom of page