top of page
  • Writer's pictureLove Ballymena

Cold Weather Payments extended to Co Antrim weather station post code areas

Cold Weather Payments have been extended to 12 more postcode areas bringing the total number of areas affected over the past week to 31.

The latest payments will be made automatically to eligible people in the following postcodes within the Aldergrove weather station area: BT27, BT28, BT29 and BT39, BT40, BT41, BT42, BT43, BT44, BT45, BT46 and BT80.

This follows the trigger last week of Cold Weather Payments for eight postcodes in the Katesbridge weather station area: BT24, BT25, BT26 and BT30, BT31, BT32, BT33 and BT34.

Cold weather payments were also triggered this week for the Castlederg and Thomastown weather station areas:

Castlederg weather station postcode areas: BT78, BT79, BT81, BT82, and Thomastown weather station postcode areas: BT74, BT75, BT76, BT77, BT92, BT93 and BT94.

The Met Office notifies the Department for Communities when the trigger for Cold Weather Payments has been reached, that is when the average temperature is, or is forecast to be, zero degrees centigrade or below over seven consecutive days.

Only those qualifying customers living in these postcode areas will receive the £25 payment. The payments will be made automatically and there is no need to make a claim.

Customers in Aldergrove postcode areas can expect to receive their payment by Wednesday 21 December 2022.

You may get a Cold Weather Payment if you’re getting certain benefits or Support for Mortgage Interest.

The Cold Weather Payment scheme runs from 1 November 2022 to 31 March 2023.

You may get Cold Weather Payments if you’re getting:

• Pension Credit

• Income Support

• Jobseekers Allowance (income-based)

• Employment and Support Allowance (income-related)

• Universal Credit

• Support for Mortgage Interest


bottom of page